

PAN AMERICAN HEALTH ORGANIZATION WORLD HEALTH ORGANIZATION

124th SESSION OF THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

Washington, D.C., 21-25 June 1999

Agenda Item 3.3

CE124/7, Add. I (Eng.) 22 June 1999 ORIGINAL: ENGLISH

PAHO AWARD FOR ADMINISTRATION, 1999

Report of the Award Committee

The Award Committee of the PAHO Award for Administration, 1999, was comprised of the delegates of Cuba, Nicaragua, and the United States of America.

The Committee met on 22 June 1999 and examined the information on the candidates nominated by Member States, namely:

Name	Country
Dr. Thomas Rathwell	Canada
Dr. Rein Lepnurm	Canada
Dr. Olga Lucía Rodríguez Arévalo	Colombia
Dr. María del Carmen Laspina Arellano	Ecuador
Ms. Heidi Deman	Guatemala
Mr. Chetram Singh	Guyana
Dr. Ida Berenice Molina Aguilera	Honduras
Ms. Mayra Isabel Chang Salgado	Honduras
Dr. Carlos Alfonzo Bennaton	Honduras
Dr. Ana Flisser Steinbruch	Mexico
Ms. Rica Delamarre	Netherlands
Mr. Tony Duran	Netherlands
Mr. Vicente Krozendijk	Netherlands
Mr. Ezzard Cilie	Netherlands
Dr. Baltus F. J. Oostburg	Suriname
Ms. Bernice Dyer-Regis	Trinidad and Tobago

CE124/7, Add. I (Eng.) Page 2

After extensive debate, the Committee unanimously decided to confer the PAHO Award for Administration, 1999, on Dr. Ana Flisser Steinbruch, of Mexico, for her work to transform the network of public health laboratories in her country to support priority health programs, including administration, teaching, and research.

The Award Committee also reviewed the selection process and recommends several changes to the procedures that could facilitate the consideration of the merits of the candidates by the Award Committee:

- that a Member State put forward no more than one candidate in any year, selecting the candidate each considers most qualified;
- that a form be developed and sent with the annual Award announcement that requests specific information responding to the three criteria outlined in the Award "Guidelines", that is, administration, teaching, and research;
- that the basis for nominating a candidate be their contributions in their own country or in the Region of the Americas;
- that the Secretariat insure that each candidate has responded to and meets the criteria of the "Guidelines" prior to submission to the Award Committee as a candidate for consideration.

The Award Committee proposes to the Executive Committee adoption of the following:

Proposed Resolution

THE 124th SESSION OF THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE,

Having examined the report of the Award Committee of the PAHO Award for Administration, 1999 (Document CE124/7, Add. I); and

Bearing in mind the provisions of the Procedures and Guidelines for conferring the PAHO Award for Administration as approved by the 18th Pan American Sanitary Conference (1970) and amended by the 24th Pan American Sanitary Conference (1994),

RESOLVES:

1. To note the decision of the Award Committee to confer the PAHO Award for Administration, 1999, on Dr. Ana Flisser Steinbruch, of Mexico, for her work to transform the network of public health laboratories in her country to support priority health programs, including administration, teaching, and research.

2. To transmit the report of the Award Committee of the PAHO Award for Administration, 1999 (Document CE124/7, Add. I), to the 41st Directing Council.