Washington, D.C., USA, 23-27 September 2002

Provisional Agenda Item 7.2

CSP26/24 (Eng.) 23 July 2002 ORIGINAL: ENGLISH

ABRAHAM HORWITZ AWARD FOR INTER-AMERICAN HEALTH, 2002

The Director of the Pan American Sanitary Bureau (PASB) and the Chairman of the Board of Trustees of the Pan American Health and Education Foundation are pleased to announce that the Abraham Horwitz Award for Inter-American Health, 2002, will be presented during the 26th Pan American Sanitary Conference to Dr. Leonard Duhl of the United States of America. The Award recognizes and stimulates excellence and leadership in health among persons working in the Americas and persons who produce ideas and work of regional significance.

The Pan American Health and Education Foundation is a public, nonprofit foundation based in Washington, D.C., which is dedicated to improving the health of the people of the Americas. The Foundation works in partnership with PAHO/WHO to combat disease, lengthen life, elevate nutrition levels, and improve the environment, particularly water quality and accessibility, in Latin America and the Caribbean. In addition, the Foundation promotes the education and training of physicians and allied health workers through the publication of medical textbooks, health and pharmacological bulletins, and continuing education materials. The Foundation is governed by a 14-member independent Board of Trustees.

Winners of the Abraham Horwitz Award have had outstanding lifetime careers in medicine and/or public health, demonstrating impact on the lives and health of the peoples of Latin America and the Caribbean. They are selected by a committee that consists of five members, including two designated by the Director of PASB and three selected by the Foundation's Board of Trustees. Nominations are received from ministers of health, leaders in health worldwide, PAHO staff members, collaborating partners, and friends of PAHO and the Foundation.

Previous Winners of the Abraham Horwitz Award

Brazil	2001
Argentina	2000
Ecuador	1999
Honduras	1998
Colombia	1997
Panama	1996
Chile	1995
Mexico	1994
Ecuador	1993
Argentina	1992
Mexico	1991
Guatemala	1990
Venezuela	1989
Jamaica	1988
Brazil	1987
Argentina	1986
Brazil	1985
Uruguay	1984
United States	1983
Colombia	1982
Venezuela	1981
Colombia	1980
Chile	1979
United States	1978
	Argentina Ecuador Honduras Colombia Panama Chile Mexico Ecuador Argentina Mexico Guatemala Venezuela Jamaica Brazil Argentina Brazil Uruguay United States Colombia Venezuela Colombia Chile